The history of Château de Galinée
From the 13th century to the present day
The fortress of Galinée was built in the 13th century by Perceval de Cognetz. 6 generations of the Des Cognets family have succeeded each other on the 14-hectare estate until the 16th century.
It was in the 18th century that the fortress was replaced by a very beautiful Renaissance castle, consisting of a main body and two parallel wings. The chapel was built in 1715 and keeps its name “Notre-Dame de Pitié”.
In 1758, during the Battle of Saint Cast, the Château de Galinée suffered a fire which destroyed it.
It is after the fire of 1758 that the castle of Galinée is rebuilt in a manor which preserves in this new construction 3 escutcheons, witnesses of the families which followed one another.
Nowadays there is a 13th century fortress wash house, a polygonal tower and some 16th century elements as well as the 18th century chapel, before the fire. It is in this chapel that the grocery store of the campsite is installed.
Between sea and countryside
The Château de Galinée campsite is located in Saint-Cast-le Guildo in the Côtes d’Armor department in Brittany, on the border of Ille et Vilaine.
On the Emerald Coast, you can discover Brittany between land and sea with many cities on the coast: St Malo, Dinard, Dinan, Saint Cast-Le-Guildo … but also treasures like Le Mont Saint Michel or Cap Frehel.
For lovers of a change of scenery it is possible from St Malo to take the boat to go to the islands of Jersey or Guernsey.
The estate is located just 3.5 km from the most beautiful beaches in the region, enough to get a breath of fresh air and reconnect with the family.